In search of videos

November 11, 2007

I want the students to use applets to learn about electricity, but I need to activate some prior knowledge and/or give them some information prior to the activity. Instead of referring students to a web page and asking them to read the web page, I thought that a video might be a bit more interesting.

So I went on a scavenger hunt and found a few videos that I might be able to utilize with my electricity unit.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=emlzh9XXWgQ  

How can magnets be made using electricity? This video shows a demo of how to make a simple electromagnet.  I hope that I may be able to go backwards with the logic and ask  what happens if you move a magnet next to a wire? Maybe we get some electricity prduced in the wire?

http://youtube.com/watch?v=EJeAuQ7pkpc

This video explains and demonstrates how a circuit works and how batteries power electrical devices. It also describes a short circuit and what conditions need to be present in a circuit to allow it to operate correctly.


http://youtube.com/watch?v=V_P27iln1Qk

The classic vinegar battery movie. I think I may start off by having the students view this film.  This is counterintuitive since most students don’t think that a fruit could be used to power a clock.  This film also covers some of the same topics that the other films do. Maybe less is more?

http://youtube.com/watch?v=bVABU9qWsqY

OK this one is just plain cool! Have you ever seen a fluorescent pickle? This is a very good film to do some expansion of topics and hey, it’s just plain cool!

So now let’s separate the wheat from the chaff. I think that I will use all of these videos except the 2nd one in my creation. Wish me luck!

One Response to “In search of videos”

  1. Joe McConda Says:

    Good luck. Looks like you went to great lengths to plan a great lesson!


Leave a Reply

